Faith, me, and Hailey right before they left for a summer in Colorado

The world is a strange place. By the time summer rolls around every year, I am packing the kids to go to their dads and darn near kicking them out of the car. I’m tired of folding their laundry, picking sucker sticks out of the carpet, and listening to Justin Bieber in my car. Sick and tired!

Summer means a honeymoon period for my husband and I. Running around the house naked, late nights out, quiet conversations, sex on the couch. It’s a dream. But that’s exactly how it feels. It feels like a dream. I keep expecting to wake up and have bubblegum scented blonde hair hanging in my face and Wizards of Waverly Places blaring from the television. But it doesn’t happen.

I check my phone. No missed calls. No text messages. They’re off having fun, doing their own thing, and I’m glad they are content and busy. I can see the hint of August on the horizon. I can see the soccer, guitar, gymnastics, dance practices coming. They will make me crazy. I will go in my bathroom, shut the door and scream on more than one occasion, I already know it.

I suppose I should hurry and go get my last pedicure of the year, before my life turns back into a crazy place of Sharpie markers and different colored duct tape. I think I am just about ready… come on home girls!